BS Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka CM after SC decides against deferring oath-taking ceremony

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala administering the oath of office to BS Yeddyurappa as Chief Minister of the State. (Pic: ANI)

Karnataka BJP Legislature Party (BJPLP) leader BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of the State after the Supreme Court, in a midnight hearing, refused to defer the swearing-in ceremony at the stroke of dawn amid unprecedented political developments.

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala administered Yeddurappa the oath of office and secrecy, the second time he was sworn in as Chief Minister of the State. The Lingayat strongman was the only legislator sworn in while the rest of the cabinet will take oath after he proves majority in the floor of the Assembly.

As Yeddyurappa was sworn in as chief minister, the Congress party led by senior leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, former chief minister Siddaramaiah and others protested in front of Mahatma Gandhi’s statue at the Vidhan Soudha (the Karnataka Legislative Assembly) in Bengaluru.

Incidentally, a three-judge bench of the Supreme Court comprising Justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan heard the joint petition filed by the Congress and the JD(S) challenging the Karnataka Governor’s decision to invite the BJP to form the government around 2 am Thursday.

After hearing the arguments from both sides, the three-judge SC bench refused to stay BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing in as Karnataka Chief Minister in a pre-dawn ruling but said it will hear the matter again at 10.30 am on Friday.

Earlier on Wednesday night, Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala had invited the BJP to form the new government in Karnataka. In a letter addressed to BS Yeddyurappa, who was earlier in the day elected leader of BJP Legislature Party, the Karnataka Governor invited him to take oath as the new chief minister besides asking him to prove his majority in the floor of the assembly within 15 days.


Karnataka Governor invites BJP to form government, BS Yeddyurappa to take oath at 9 am tomorrow, to prove majority within 15 days

The BJP had won 104 seats in the results declared on Tuesday, eight short of the halfway figure of 112 in the State Legislative Assembly that currently has an effective strength of 222 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here