Runaway Premier League leaders Manchester City were crowned winners of the 2017-18 season on Sunday after city rivals and title contenders Manchester United suffered a shock 0-1 defeat at the hands of West Bromwich Albion on Sunday.

City had trounced Tottenham Hotspurs 3-1 on Saturday that meant United needed to beat West Brom to keep Pep Guardiola’s men from winning the trophy. However, with United’s shock defeat at home at the hands of bottom-placed West Brom, City won the title — their third in the past seven seasons — without even taking to the playing field.

Manchester City’s game against Swansea at the Etihad Stadium next Sunday will now be a time for celebrations irrespective of the outcome of the game.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here