Assamese movie ‘Village Rockstars’ stole the show in the 65th National Film Awards, winning four awards, including the Best Feature Film award. The film — a coming-of-age drama written, produced and directed by self-taught filmmaker Rima Das — won three more awards. While Bhanita Das won the Best Child Artist Award, Rima won the Best Editing award while the fourth honour went to Mallika Das who won the Best Audiography award.

On the other hand, Sridevi won the Best Actress (posthumously) for her role in the movie ‘Mom’ while the Best Actor (Male) award went to Bengali actor Riddhi Sen for his performance in the film ‘Nagar Kirtan’. ‘Bahubali – The Conclusion’ won the Best Popular Film award providing wholesale entertainment while ‘Newton’ won the Best Hindi Film award.

Meanwhile, filmmaker and critic Utpal Borpujari’s children movie ‘Ishu’ was named the Best Assamese Film.

Meanwhile, the Dada Saheb Phalke Award will be conferred posthumously on Vinod Khanna. The award will be conferred on May 3.

Here is the full list of winners:

Dada Saheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna (posthumously)

Best Feature Film: Village Rockstars (Assamese)

Best Director: Jayaraj for Bhayanakam (Malayalam)

Best Actress: Sridevi for Mom

Best Actor: Ridhhi Sen, Nagar Kirtan

Best Popular Film: Baahubali 2

Best film on Social Issues: Aalorukkam

Best Child artist: Bhanita Das (Village Rockstars)

Best Film Critic: Giridhar Jha

Special Mention for Film Criticism: Sunil Mishra of Madhya Pradesh

Best Regional Film: Ladhakh

Best Marathi Film: Kaccha Limbu

Best Malayam Film: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Hindi Film: Newton

Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi

Best Assamese Film: Ishu

Best Tamil Film: To Let

Best Telugu film: Gazi

BEST Gujarati film: DHH

Best Kannada film: Hebbettu Ramakka

Best Action Direction: Baahubali 2

Best choreography: Toilet Ek Prem Katha (Ganesh Acharya is the choreographer)

Best Special Effects: Baahubali 2

Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan(Bengali)

Best lyrics for song Muthu Ratna, for Kannada film March 22

Best Music Direction: A R Rahman for Kaatru Veliyidai

Background score: A R Rahman for Mom

Best Make Up artist- Ram Razak for Nagar Kirtan

Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan (Malayalam)

Best editing: Reema Das (for an Assamese film)

Best Original Screenplay:  Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Adapted Screenplay: Bhayankam, to Jairaj

Best Film playback Singer- Shasha Tirupati  (Vaan Varuvaan song)

Best Male Playback Singer: Yesudas

Best supporting actress – Divya Dutta, Irada (Hindi Film)

Best Supporting Actor – Fahad Faazil

Best Film for National Integration – Dhappa (Marathi)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here