Tripura BJP chief, Biplab Kumar Deb has been elected by party MLAs as their leader in the State assembly and is expected to take oath as Chief Minister on next Friday, March 9 at a ceremony likely to be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari, who oversaw today’s meeting of the newly-elected BJP MLAs, announced that Biplab Deb had been chosen to be Chief Minister. Biplab Deb said senior BJP leader Jishnu Debbarma will assist him as deputy Chief Minister.

Gadkari is now leading the BJP delegation to the Raj Bhawan, where Deb will stake claim to form government. The BJP posted a stunning victory on Saturday winning 35 of Tripura’s 60 assembly seats- 43 along with a regional ally- and ousting Left party CPM, which was in power for 25 years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here